Chambers & Partners has detected the use of an ad blocker.
We make use of tailor-made ads to enhance your experience of our website.
Please 'whitelist'
UK Bar Guide
Firm Profile

Terra Firma Chambers

Firm Profile


  • Profile
  • Parliament House
  • High Street
  • Edinburgh
  • City of Edinburgh
  • UK
  • EH1 1RF

Firm profile submitted by Terra Firma Chambers

The Chambers Terra Firma Chambers was established in January 2008 with the purpose of providing specialised services in the areas of property, planning, commercial and administrative public law. It was quickly recognised as a leading set with members ranked in each of its core practice areas in either Scotland or England. It has also established an enviable reputation for the service provided by its members and clerks. The chambers contains 46 counsel, including 17 Queen’s Counsel. It has the largest number of dual qualified members of the Scottish and English Bars of any Scottish set, with several members in leading chambers at the English Bar. It also has more specialist arbitration advocates (and more arbitration academics) than any other set at the Scottish Bar, including one of the first specially accredited commercial arbitrators by the CEPMLP at Dundee University. Several members hold appointments as part-time sheriffs or part-time tribunal judges. Members of chambers accept instructions under the Faculty of Advocates Direct Access Rules.

Practice Manager Emma Potter
Deputy Clerk Andrew Veitch
Deputy Clerk Tracy Whitelaw
Tenants 46

  • The Rt Hon Lord Hope of Craighead QC (1965) (QC-1978)
  • Sir Menzies Campbell MP QC (1968) (QC-1982)
  • Roy Martin QC (1976) (QC-1988)
  • Steven Stuart QC (1979) (QC-2008)
  • Stuart Gale QC (1980) (QC-1993)
  • J Gordon Reid QC (1980) (QC-1993)
  • Gordon Steele QC (1981) (QC-1996)
  • James Findlay QC (1984) (QC-2008) (England & Wales-1984) (Scotland-2008)
  • Peter Ferguson QC (1985) (QC-2005)
  • Scott Brady QC (1987) (QC-2000)
  • The Rt Hon Dame Elish Angiolini QC (2008) (QC-2001)
  • Douglas Armstrong QC (1990) (QC-2005)
  • Michael Howlin QC (1996) (QC-2009)
  • Andrew Bowen QC (1997) (QC-2012)
  • Philip J D Simpson QC (2001) (QC-2014)
  • Roddy McIlvride QC (2005) (QC-2014)
  • Steven Walker QC (1999) (QC-2016)
  • Derek Francis (1985)
  • Robert Skinner (1987)
  • Peter Grant-Hutchison (1988)
  • Neil Beynon (1990)
  • Robert Sutherland (1992)
  • Nicholas Holroyd (1992)
  • David Bartos (1993)
  • Iain Maclean (1994)
  • Neil Kinnear (1994)
  • Maurice O’Carroll (1995)
  • William Frain-Bell (1999)
  • David Parratt (1999)
  • Scott Blair (2000)
  • Luise Locke (2000)
  • David Logan (2000)
  • Fred Mackintosh (2000)
  • Stephen O’Rourke (2002)
  • Fergus Thomson (2004)
  • Alasdair J Burnet (2006)
  • Gordon Watt (2007)
  • Julius Komorowski (2008)
  • Graham Dunlop (2009)
  • Stephen Winter (2011)
  • Mark Mohammed (2011)
  • Dennis Edwards (2012)
  • Denis Garrity (2014)
  • Alasdair Sutherland (2014)
  • Faryma Bahrami (2015)
  • Roddy MacLeod (2016)

Work Undertaken The members of Terra Firma Chambers carry out the whole gamut of work related to property, planning, commercial and administrative law. Because many of the areas of law in which members specialise are also regulated by the European Union and the Human Rights Act 1988, members are also well placed to advise on the EU and ECHR aspects of any issue.
Property: Access rights, agriculture and crofting, boundary disputes, charities, commercial property, common good, conveyancing, executries and succession, housing, intellectual property, landlord and tenant, pensions, professional negligence, regulatory enforcement and liability, servitudes and wayleaves, taxation and estate planning, trusts and judicial factors, unjustified enrichment, valuation and rating, wills.
Planning: Conservation, compulsory purchase and compensation, contaminated land, drainage and flood prevention, environmental (civil and criminal) regulation, housing, industrial, infrastructure development, leisure, minerals, nuisance, planning, pollution prevention and control, renewable energy, retail, roads, sewage, telecommunications, waste. Commercial: Bankruptcy and diligence, building and construction, contracts, commercial arbitration and dispute resolution, discrimination, employment, energy, health and safety, insolvency, intellectual property, partnership, professional negligence, public procurement, regulatory liability, restrictive covenants, roads and transport, taxation, valuation and rating. Members act as advocates, mediators and arbitrators within Scotland, England and internationally. Administrative & Public Law: Charities, community care, constitutional law, election law, freedom of information, human rights, judicial review, licensing, local government, professional and disciplinary proceedings, public procurement, regulatory enforcement and liability, statutory appeals and review, valuation and rating, welfare law. Members regularly appear before courts, tribunals, inquiries, hearings and local authority committees.


  • Parliament House,
  • High Street,
  • Edinburgh,
  • City of Edinburgh
  • UK
  • EH1 1RF
  • Tel (0131) 260 5830
  • Fax (0131) 225 3642
  • DX 549302 Edinburgh 36
  • Website :