Chambers & Partners has detected the use of an ad blocker.
We make use of tailor-made ads to enhance your experience of our website.
Please 'whitelist' http://www.chambersandpartners.com.
Close
Canada Guide
Firm Profile

McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Firm Profile

Toronto

  • Profile
  • Suite 5300, TD Bank Tower
  • Toronto Dominion Centre
  • Toronto
  • Ontario
  • Canada
  • M5K 1E6

Firm profile submitted by McCarthy Tétrault LLP

CEO: David Leonard
Chair: David Lever
Managing Partners: Sven Milelli (British Columbia), Sean Smyth (Alberta), Godyne Sibay (Ontario), Karl Tabbakh (Québec), Mark Adkins (New York), Robert Brant (London, U.K.)
Number of partners: 275
Number of other lawyers: 292


McCarthy Tétrault provides a broad range of legal services, advising on large and complex assignments for Canadian and international interests. Built on a unique model of collaboration, innovation and efficiency, the firm provides unequalled legal talent, industry knowledge and practice experience and delivers customised legal services to help clients achieve the results that are important to them. McCarthy Tétrault has worked with all levels of government to develop the laws and regulations that have shaped – and continue to shape – the Canadian economy. With offices in Canada’s major commercial centres and in New York, USA and London, UK, McCarthy Tétrault delivers integrated services in business law, litigation, tax, real estate, and labour and employment law. The firm’s lawyers work seamlessly across practice groups and regions, representing major Canadian enterprises and international clients. From its earliest days, McCarthy Tétrault pioneered advances in the practice of law and law firm management, to adapt to changing client needs. Following this tradition of legal service innovation, McCarthy Tétrault is leading the charge among Canadian firms to rethink and restructure the way it delivers legal services, building upon the firm’s promise to clients of better results – and a better experience. McCarthy Tétrault provides solutions to achieve the value a client needs through custom solutions. The firm’s approach includes project management, alternative fee and creative staffing arrangements, and process re-engineering. In early 2017, this committment to innovation was further strengthened with the aquisition of Wortzmans, Canada's leading e-discovery and information management firm.

Practice AreasAgribusinessBankruptcy & Restructuring Capital Markets Communications Competition / Antitrust ConstructionCybersecurity, Privacy & Data ProtectionEnergy (Oil & Gas, Power) Environmental, Regulatory & Aboriginal Financial ServicesFintechHealth HospitalityInfrastructure InsuranceIntellectual Property International Trade & Investment LabourLife SciencesLitigation M&A Mining Municipal PlanningPensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation PharmaceuticalPrivate Equity Procurement ProjectsReal Estate Regulatory InvestigationsRetail and Consumer MarketsSecurities Regulation & Investment Products Tax Technology & LicensingTransportation

M&A:
Contact: Cameron Belsher
Tel: +1 416 601 8697; +1 604 643 7985
Email: cbelsher@mccarthy.ca

Oil & Gas:
Contact:
Craig Spurn Tel: +1 403 260 3525
Email: cspurn@mccarthy.ca

Litigation:
Contact:
Caroline Zayid Tel: +1 416 601 7768
Email: czayid@mccarthy.ca

Mining:
Contact:
Shea Small Tel: +1 416 601 8425
Email: ssmall@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Roger Taplin Tel: +1 604 643 5922
Email: rtaplin@mccarthy.ca

Financial Services:
Contact:
Marc MacMullin Tel: +1 416 601 7558
Email: mmacmull@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Barry Ryan Tel: +1 416 601 7799
Email: bryan@mccarthy.ca

Capital Markets:
Contact:
Andrew Parker Tel: +1 416 601 7604
Email: aparker@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Patrick Boucher Tel: +1 514 397 4237
Email: pboucher@mccarthy.ca

Competition / Antitrust:
Contact:
Donald Houston Tel: +1 416 601 7506
Email: dhouston@mccarthy.ca

Information Technology:
Contact:
Charles Morgan Tel: +1 514 397 4230
Email: cmorgan@mccarthy.ca

Labour & Employment:
Contact:
Tim Lawson Tel: +1 416 601 8172
Email: timlawson@mccarthy.ca

Power:
Contact:
Sean O'Neill Tel: +1 416 601 7699
Email: dlever@mccarthy.ca

Private Equity:
Contact:
Matthew Cumming Tel: +1 416 601 7744
Email: mcumming@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Jonathan See Tel: +1 416 601 7560
Email: jsee@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Patrick Shea Tel: +1 514 397 4246
Email: pshea@mccarthy.ca

Real Estate:
Contact:
John Currie Tel: +1 416 601 8154
Email: jcurrie@mccarthy.ca

Retail & Consumer Markets:
Contact:
Lara Nathans Tel: +1 416 601 8470
Email: lnathans@mccarthy.ca

Projects & Infrastructure:
Contact: Linda Brown Tel: +1 604 643 7191
Email: lbrown@mccarthy.ca
Contact: Gordon Willcocks Tel: +1 416 601 7818
Email: gwillcocks@mccarthy.ca

Tax:
Contact:
Christian Meighen Tel: +1 514 397 4165
Email: cmeighen@mccarthy.ca

Branches

  • Suite 4000,
  • 421 7th Avenue SW,
  • Calgary,
  • Alberta
  • Canada
  • T2P 4K9
  • Tel +1 403 260 3500
  • Fax +1 403 260 3501
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca
  • Website : www.mccarthy.ca
  • Suite 2500,
  • 1000 de La Gauchetière Street West,
  • Montréal,
  • Québec
  • Canada
  • H3B 0A2
  • Tel +1 514 397 4100
  • Fax +1 514 875 6246
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca
  • 500, Grande Allée Est,
  • 9e étage,
  • Québec,
  • Canada
  • G1R 2J7
  • Tel +1 418 521 3000
  • Fax +1 418 521 3099
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca
  • Suite 5300, TD Bank Tower,
  • Toronto Dominion Centre,
  • Toronto,
  • Ontario
  • Canada
  • M5K 1E6
  • Tel +1 416 362 1812
  • Fax +1 416 868 0673
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca
  • Suite 2400, 745 Thurlow Street,
  • Vancouver,
  • British Columbia
  • Canada
  • V6E 0C5
  • Tel +1 604 643 7100
  • Fax +1 604 643 7900
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca
  • 125 Old Broad Street,
  • 26th Floor,
  • London,
  • Greater London
  • UK
  • EC2N 1AR
  • Tel +44 207 489 5700
  • Fax +44 207 489 5777
  • Email : info@mccarthy.ca