• You are now in...
  • Europe

Bär & Karrer AG

Zürich

Bär & Karrer AG - Zürich
  • Brandschenkestrasse 90
  • Zürich
  • Zurich
  • Switzerland
  • CH-8027
  • Chairman: Daniel Hochstrasser
  • Managing Partner: Daniel Hochstrasser, Dr Markus Wang, Paolo Bottini, Dr Corrado Rampini, Dr Thomas Reutter
  • Number of partners: 38
  • Number of lawyers: 120+
  • Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Firm Overview:
Bär & Karrer is a leading Swiss law firm with more than 120 lawyers in Zurich, Geneva, Lugano and Zug. The firm’s core business is advising clients on innovative and complex transactions and representing them in litigation, arbitration, and regulatory proceedings. Clients range from multinational corporations to private individuals in Switzerland and around the world.

Main Areas of Practice:
Litigation/Arbitration:

Corporate and commercial disputes and all related issues, employment law litigation, disputes involving trusts and estates, bankruptcy-related proceedings, and white-collar crime.Ad hoc and institutional arbitrations governed by Swiss or foreign law. Members of the arbitration team regularly serve as party-appointed arbitrators, sole arbitrators, and chairpersons of arbitral tribunals, as well as mediators.
Contact: Matthew T Reiter (Litigation)
Email: matthew.reiter@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: DanielHochstrasser (Arbitration)
Email: daniel.hochstrasser@baerkarrer.ch

Mergers & Acquisitions:
Complex domestic and cross-border transactions, acquisitions and divestments, auctions, friendly and hostile takeovers, spin-offs, mergers, transaction finance and restructurings.
Contact: Dr Christoph Neeracher (Private M&A)
Email: christoph.neeracher@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: DrDieter Dubs (Public M&A)
Email: dieter.dubs@baerkarrer.ch

Real Estate:
Representation of institutional and private investors in large portfolio transactions and single asset deals. Acquisitions and sales of real estate companies and capital market transactions of listed companies in the real estate sector.
Contact: Dr Corrado Rampini
Email: corrado.rampini@baerkarrer.ch

Capital Markets:
Representation of issuers and underwriters in domestic and international securities offerings. IPOs, rights offerings, convertible bonds, hybrid instruments and other securities transactions.
Contact: Dr Thomas U Reutter
Email: thomas.reutter@baerkarrer.ch

Listed Companies:
Advice to listed companies and their shareholders on corporate and securities law as well as corporate governance.
Contact: Dr Dieter Dubs
Email: dieter.dubs@baerkarrer.ch

Banking, Insurance & Financing:
Advice to financial institutions on regulatory and commercial issues and compliance matters and to lenders and borrowers on debt financings. Representation of clients in enforcement proceedings of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA.
Contact: Eric Stupp (Banking)
Email: eric.stupp@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: Dr Peter Hsu (Insurance)
Email: peter.hsu@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: Christophe Buchwalder (Finance,Geneva)
Email: christophe.buchwalder@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: Ralph Malacrida (Finance,Zurich)
Email: ralph.malacrida@baerkarrer.ch

Collective Investment Schemes & Structured Products:
All matters related to investment products, structuring and implementation. Licensing and registration procedures before the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA.
Contact: Stephanie Comtesse
Email: stephanie.comtesse@baerkarrer.ch

Reorganisation & Insolvency:
Domestic and cross-border restructurings and insolvency matters. The firm represents banks, financial investors and other creditors as well as corporate debtors and their directors on complex financial reorganisations and insolvency proceedings.
Contact: Thomas Rohde
Email: thomas.rohde@baerkarrer.ch

Internal Investigations & Cross-border Proceedings:
Internal investigations for corporations in Switzerland and around the world. International legal assistance proceedings (civil and criminal matters) and international administrative assistance proceedings.
Contact: Dr Andreas Länzlinger
Email: andreas.laenzlinger@baerkarrer.ch

Intellectual Property & Technology:
Contentious and non-contentious issues related to patents, trademarks, designs, copyright, licensing, and other intellectual property. Software contracts, outsourcing projects, M&A transactions and joint ventures in the IT industry. Representation of telecommunication companies, cable network providers as well as internet providers.
Contact: Dr Markus Wang
Email: markus.wang@baerkarrer.ch

Competition Law:
Assistance with investigations by the Swiss Competition Commission. National merger control filings and coordination of multijurisdictional merger control filings. Advice on distribution practices, cooperation agreements, intellectual property licensing,pricing and marketing policies, and on antitrust compliance programs.
Contact: Dr Mani Reinert
Email: mani.reinert@baerkarrer.ch

Energy & Natural Resources:
Legal issues relating to energy, including licensing, transmission and distribution, oil and gas projects, as well as joint ventures. M&A transactions, energy trading, litigation, and regulatory and administrative proceedings.
Contact: Michele Bernasconi
Email: michele.bernasconi@baerkarrer.ch
Contact: Phyllis Scholl
Email: phyllis.scholl@baerkarrer.ch

Media, Entertainment & Sports:
Advice to broadcasters operators of satellite and cable television services, to producers, publishers, composers, authors and artists.Legal services to clients in the sports industry, such as to athletes, clubs, national and international federations and event organisers.
Contact: Michele Bernasconi
Email: michele.bernasconi@baerkarrer.ch

Tax:
All matters related to direct and indirect taxes, customs duties, and other levies to corporations and individuals, financial institutions, institutional and private investors, partnerships, trusts, estates, and foundations. Comprehensive tax planning solutions.
Contact: Dr Raoul Stocker
Email: raoul.stocker@baerkarrer.ch

Private Clients:
Advice to private clients and their families on all matters relating to matrimonial property and succession law. Assistance with regard to taking up residence and domicile in Switzerland, representation of clients in all types of litigation involving trusts, gifts, wills, estates and matrimonial property before Swiss courts and in multijurisdictional disputes.
Contact: Tina Wüstemann
Email: tina.wuestemann@baerkarrer.ch

Notarial Services:
Notarial services to corporate and private clients.
Contact: Thomas Stoltz
Email: thomas.stoltz@baerkarrer.ch

Branches

  • 12, quai de la Poste,
  • Geneva,
  • Switzerland
  • CH-1211
  • Tel +41 58 261 57 00
  • Fax +41 58 261 57 01
  • Email : geneve@baerkarrer.ch
  • Via Vegezzi, 6,
  • Lugano,
  • Ticino
  • Switzerland
  • CH-6901
  • Tel +41 58 261 58 00
  • Fax +41 58 261 58 01
  • Email : lugano@baerkarrer.ch
  • Baarerstrasse 8,
  • Zug,
  • Switzerland
  • CH-6301
  • Tel +41 58 261 5900
  • Fax +41 58 261 5901
  • Email : zug@baerkarrer.ch